LUX MUNDI
Heilig Kreuz, St. Godehard, St. Magdalenen, St. Mauritius: Churches and their neighbourhoods in dialogue

The cooperation project connect churches and their districts. It creates opportunities to re-explore one’s own neighbourhoods, to learn more about light, and to talk about the many metaphors associated with light. During the EVI LICHTUNGEN these districts present in their churches site-specific works of international artists from Germany, the Middle East, North America and North Africa. In addition, presentation sites throughout the district will report on research, workshops and networking of the LUX MUNDI PROJECT.

IN-SITU-EXPERIMENTS
Experimental city exploration with artistic methods. >>

IN-SITU-TEXTS
A reading lounge in the old vestry. >>

IN-SITU-WINDOW
Creative workshop and exhibition in a gate house. >>

IN-SITU-WALK
A district walk to see sites in a new light. >>

IN-SITU-EXPERIENCES
Creative Workshops and exhibition about the subject “Light in religion and social studies”. >>

IN-SITU-SEARCH FOR TRACES
A search for traces relating to the “Metaphors of Light” in everyday life. >>

IN-SITU-LABORATORY
Light Art Laboratory for light experiments. >>

CHURCHES IN THE DISTRICTS

VIS-A-VIS IN THE NEIGHBOURHOOD

In the framework of LUX MUNDI, neighborhood projects are being created that deal with light as material, medium and metaphor in various ways. The focus is on creative exercises to learn and understand more about light.

HEILIG-KREUZ CHURCH

Oase Heilig Kreuz
Kreuzbar

ST. GODEHARD

JVA

ST. MAGDALENEN

Grundschule Alter Markt

ST. MAURITIUS

Gelbe Schule

IN-SITU-ART

On January 24, 2018, from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm, in discussion with the hosts and their neighbours the artists present their work, all of which were developed with reference to the location and its surroundings. During the dress rehearsal, they talk about experiences and discoveries that go hand-in-hand with context and site-specific ways of working and their interest in working in Hildesheim.

IN-SITU-CULTURAL STUDIES

For the period of three month students of cultural studies develop site- and context specific projects to activate the neighbourhoods, to bring light into discussion and to strengthen neighbourhood identity.

“In situ” is part of many technical terms, i.a. in medicine and natural sciences, technology and art. It is a latin term and is translated as “at the place” or “at the original place”. In art, it is used to express that a work was developed in a place, for a situation or in relation to a concrete context.

The IN-SITU-PROJECTS of LUX MUNDI sensitize for the peculiarities of artistic in-situ-working methods and the associated reflectiveness. Site-specific working artists react to a situation that consists of topographical specifics, architectural aspects and associated contexts of experierence and meaning. They immerse themselves in the complexity of a place and explore the ramifications in order to reflect the obvious as well as the overlooked, the written and the adapted, the recognizable and the coded. On the basis of their observations and finds, they generate objects, performances or interventions in which the place and its interior becomes part of artistic material.

The IN-SITU-PROJECTS of LUX MUNDI promote the deepening of the visual experience and the exchange about the variety of seeing. They create new approaches to contemporary art as they strengthen individual experience as the starting point of contemplation. Many of the artists who work with physical light refer to perception as a co-creative and co-constituting process of each artwork. This has changed the nature of the works, its materiality and visual language. The status of the viewer is an active one. James Turrell sums it up: “I like to use light as a material, but my medium is actually perception. I want you to sense yourself – to see yourself seeing. ”

The IN-SITU-PROJECTS of LUX MUNDI enable concrete interventions in the public space, which make the city tangible as a dynamically active structure and encourage engagement. Where subjectivity is emphasized a priori by perception, the model of an objective, static and writable work dissolves. This also leads to a growing number and variety of installations and interventions, many of them are designed as re- or interactive, often with participatory concepts. The multiplication of perspectives as part of artistic research and aesthetic experience corresponds with the idea of the city as a collective space of the possible.

FUNDING

Contact: kooperation@evilichtungen.de

LUX MUNDI
Heilig Kreuz, St. Godehard, St. Magdalenen, St. Mauritius: Kirchen und ihre Quartiere im Dialog

Das Kooperationsprojekt vernetzt Kirchen und ihre Quartiere. Es schafft Gelegenheiten, die eigenen Nachbarschaften neu zu erkunden, mehr über Licht zu lernen und über die vielen Metaphern zu sprechen, die mit Licht verbunden sind. Während der EVI LICHTUNGEN präsentieren diese Quartiere in ihren Kirchen ortspezifische Arbeiten internationaler Künstler_innen aus Deutschland, dem Nahen Osten, Nordamerika und Nordafrika. Außerdem entstehen über das Quartier verteilt Präsentationsorte, die von Recherchen, Werkstätten und Vernetzungen des LUX MUNDI PROJEKTES berichten.

IN-SITU-EXPERIMENTE
Experimentelle Stadterkundungen mit künstlerischen Mitteln. >>

IN-SITU-TEXTE
Eine Leselounge in der Alten Sakristei >>

IN-SITU-SCHAUFENSTER
Kreativ-Workshop und Ausstellung zu dem Thema „Lichtblick“. >>

IN-SITU-SPAZIERGANG
Ein Spaziergang, der hinter das Licht führt. >>

IN-SITU-ERFAHRUNGEN
Kreativ-Workshops und Ausstellung zu dem Thema „Licht in Religion und Sachkunde“. >>

IN-SITU-SPURENSUCHE
Spurensuche zu „Metaphern des Lichts“ im Alltag. >>

IN-SITU-LABOR
Licht Kunst Labor zum Experimentieren mit Licht. >>

KIRCHEN IM QUARTIER

VIS-A-VIS IM QUARTER

Im Rahmen von LUX MUNDI entstehen Nachbarschafts-Projekte, die auf verschiedenste Weisen sich mit Licht als Material, Medium und Metapher auseinandersetzen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen kreative Übungen, um mehr über Licht zu erfahren und zu verstehen.

HEILIG-KREUZ-KIRCHE

Oase Heilig Kreuz
Kreuzbar

ST. GODEHARD

JVA

ST. MAGDALENEN

Grundschule Alter Markt

ST. MAURITIUS

Gelbe Schule

IN-SITU-KUNST

Am 24. Januar 2018 von 18.00 Uhr bis 20.00 Uhr stellen die Künstler_innen im Gespräch mit den Gastgeber_innen und Nachbar_innen ihre Arbeiten vor, die alle mit Bezug auf den Ort und sein Umfeld entwickelt wurden. Während der Generalprobe erzählen sie von Erfahrungen und Entdeckungen, die mit ort- und kontext- spezifischen Arbeitsweisen einhergehen und was sie an der Arbeit in Hildesheim interessiert.

IN-SITU-KULTURWISSENSCHAFT

Über drei Monate entwickeln Studierende der kulturwissenschaftlichen Studiengänge ort- und kontextspezifische Projekte, um Nachbarschaften zu aktivieren, Licht ins Gespräch zu bringen und Quartiers-Identität zu stärken.

„In situ“ ist Teil vieler Fachbegriffe, u.a. in Medizin und Naturwissenschaften, Technik und Kunst. Es ist ein lateinischer Begriff und wird übersetzt mit „am Ort“ oder „am ursprünglichen Ort“. In der Kunst wird es benutzt, um auszudrücken, dass ein Werk an einem Ort, für eine Situation oder mit Bezug auf einen konkreten Kontext entwickelt wurde.

Die IN-SITU-PROJEKTE von LUX MUNDI sensibilisieren für die Besonderheiten von künstlerischen in-situ-Arbeitsweisen und die damit verbundene Nachdenklichkeit. Künstler_innen,  die ort- und kontext- spezifisch arbeiten, reagieren auf eine Situation, die sich aus topografischen Spezifika eines Ortes, architektonischen Aspekten und assoziierten Erfahrungs-, Bedeutungs- und Sinnzusammenhängen zusammensetzt. Sie vertiefen sich in die Vielschichtigkeit eines Ortes und erkunden die Verästelungen, um das Offensichtliche wie das Übersehene, Eingeschriebenes wie Adaptiertes, Erkennbares und Codiertes zu reflektieren. Anhand ihrer Beobachtungen und Fundstücke generieren sie Objekte, Performances oder Interventionen,  in denen der vorgefundene Ort und sein Interieur zum Teil künstlerischen Materials wird.

Die IN-SITU-PROJEKTE von LUX MUNDI fördern die Vertiefung der Seherfahrung und den Austausch über die Vielfalt des Sehens. Sie schaffen neue Zugänge zu zeitgenössischer Kunst, da sie die individuelle Erfahrung als Ausgangspunkt der Betrachtung stärken. Viele der Künstler_innen, die mit physikalischem Licht arbeiten, beziehen sich auf die Wahrnehmung als einen ko-kreativen und ko-konstituierenden Prozess eines jeden Kunstwerkes. Dies hat die Art der Arbeiten, ihre Materialität und ihre visuelle Sprache verändert. Dabei ist der Status der Betrachtenden ein aktiver. James Turrell fasst es so zusammen: “I like to use light as a material, but my medium is actually perception. I want you to sense yourself sensing – to see yourself seeing.”

Die IN-SITU-PROJEKTE von LUX MUNDI ermöglichen konkrete Eingriffe in den öffentlichen Raum, die die Stadt als dynamisches Wirkgefüge erfahrbar machen und partizipatives Engagement fördern. Wo Subjektivität als a priori von Wahrnehmung betont wird, löst sich das Modell eines objektiven, statischen und beschreibbaren Werkes auf. Dies führt auch zu einer wachsenden Zahl und Vielfalt an Installationen und Interventionen, viele als re- oder interaktive angelegt sind, häufig auch mit partizipativen Konzepten. Die Vervielfältigung der Perspektiven als Teil künstlerischer Forschung und äthetischer Erfahrung korrespondiert mit der Idee von der Stadt als kollektivem Raum des Möglichen.

ZUSAMMENARBEIT

Kontakt: kooperation@evilichtungen.de